Quantcast
 
 

Fall in Love at Basin Harbor in Vergennes, VT - Save now on mid-week getaways! Click here to see our special fall packages!

Marijuana in Vermont


Recreation Use of Marijuana by Adults in Decriminalized

As of July 1, 2018 adults 21 years and older may legally possess & use marijuana.
Decriminalization means there is no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount for one’s own use. Possession of small amount is treated like a minor traffic violation. (Source: NORML)

Possession:

  • Possession of one ounce or less of marijuana by a person 21 years of age or older, is punishable with a civil violation not a criminal offense. One to two ounces is a misdemeanor with fines of $500 (up to $2,000 for subsequent offenses). More than two ounces is a felony, with escalating fines and jail time depending on quantity.

Use in Public:

  • You may not smoke marijuana in public or in any place where you are prohibited from smoking tobacco

Hash & Concentrates:

  • Vermont classifies hashish and concentrates as marijuana. The law decriminalizes possession of 5 grams or less of hash by anyone age 21 or older. Civil fines are $200 to $500, depending on the number of repeated offenses. Possession of more than 5 grams of hash is a misdemeanor punishable by fines and jail time.

Paraphernalia:

  • The possession of marijuana paraphernalia by anyone age 21 or older is punishable by a civil fine, meaning there is no arrest, jail time, or criminal record.

Driving Under the Influence:

  • This state has a drugged driving law. People may not drive a motor vehicle if they have a detectable level of an illicit drug in their body.

Medical Marijuana:


Use these links for recreational marijuana laws for each New England state:
Marijuana in Connecticut
Marijuana in Rhode Island
Marijuana in Massachusetts
Marijuana in New Hampshire
Marijuana in Maine